overGrive - Ubuntu Installation Instructions

 Requirements

  • Ubuntu 16.04 - 19.10 / Mint 18 - 19.2 (32bit / 64bit) or later installed. The software should work on most Debian based systems if they support Gtk3.
  • Python 3.5.3 or later installed. Ubuntu 16.04 users can update to 3.5.3 from here:
sudo add-apt-repository -y ppa:jonathonf/python-3.5 && sudo apt update && sudo apt install python3.5
  • The Ubuntu 'Universe' repository must be activated in the Software Center -> Software Sources / Software & Updates. You can also activate the repository from command line with:
sudo add-apt-repository universe && sudo apt-get update && 
  • Valid Google Drive Account.

 Installation

sudo dpkg -i overgrive_3.3.x_all.deb
  • If you encounter any errors during the install relating to depencecies open a terminal window and enter:
sudo apt install -f

 Un-Install

  • To un-install overGrive simply remove via the Ubuntu Software Center or from command line with : sudo apt-get remove overgrive

 Limitations

  • Symbolic links are not supported yet.
  • Forward slash ( / ) symbol in filename is not supported.
  • Google Drawings converted to SVG or other local file formats cannot be edited and converted back to Google Drawings format. This does not apply for the other Google Docs formats.
  • Google Photos, Google Maps and Google Forms are not supported.

 Setup

  • After install start overGrive from the Ubuntu Dash or from your desktop Applications > Utilities menu.
  • Follow the setup instructions as show in the screenshots below.

 

1. Getting Started - Launch overGrive Setup

  • Start the application from the dash by searching for overgrive.

 

2. Connect account - Authorize your Google Drive account

  • Click Connect account
  • NOTE: Sync options will be available after connecting your account.

 

  • A browser window will open for you to sign in to your Google account.
  • NOTE: Mint users there seems to be a problem on Mint regarding what default browser is set. If a browser window does not open when clicking Connect account, try the following command from a terminal window and select Firefox or Chrome as you default browser: sudo update-alternatives --config x-www-browser

 

  • Allow overGrive permission to access your Google Drive.
  • Click Allow to continue.

 

  • You will be given a authorization token code by Google. Copy this code. 

 

  • Paste your Google authorization code in the Account entry box provided.
  • Click Validate to validate the code.

 

3. Preferences

Account:

  • Once connected your account email and online storage usage will be displayed.
  • To use another account click Disconnect account and connect the other account.

Folder location:

  • Select which local folder will be used to sync or backup to Google Drive. By default a Google Drive folder will be created in your Home Folder. Click Change to select a different local folder. 

Sync options:

  • Select which Google Drive folders to sync to your computer. You have to connect an account before this option becomes available.

Removing Items:

  • Choose how files and folders are removed from Google Drive.
  • The default Remove items everywhere will remove items to the trash folder on Google Drive when items are deleted locally.
  • Do not remove items everywhere will ignore items deleted locally and not delete items on Google Drive. NOTE:  If the items are still set to sync, the items will be downloaded the next time you click Sync Now or changes to the files are detected on Google Drive online and Auto Sync is selected. 
  • Ask me before removing items everywhere. When items are deleted locally, you will be asked to confirm before items are removed from Google Drive. 

Google Docs:

  • You can also select if you would like overGrive to convert your Google Docs to office file formats that can be edited locally.
  • Select which file format to use for each of the Google Docs formats.
  • Changes made locally to Documents, Spreadsheets and Presentations created from original Google Docs will be synced back to Google Drive as revisions of the original Google Docs.

Backup:

  • Only backup files and folders from your local computer to Google Drive. Backup mode.
  • All items in your local folder will be uploaded to Google Drive.
  • No files will be synced from Google Drive to your local machine.
  • Only new items locally will be uploaded to Google Drive. If the Google Drive item version is newer than the local version, the local item will be ignored. 
  • Item changes on Google Drive will be ignored
  • Local files can be deleted without items being removed from Google Drive.
  • You can switch between Sync and Backup mode as required. 

Misc:

  • KDE, Lubuntu and LXDE desktop users select the Prefer Light Icon Theme if they cannot see the application icon clearly.

Advanced:

  • Click Advanced to exclude files by extension.
  • Add and Remove extensions as required.
  • All files with the extensions listed will be ignored during backup and sync.

 

4. First Sync

  • Once you have completed setting your preferences. Click Start Sync
  • Your files will be synchronized to your local Google Drive folder from your Google Drive online.
  • Files in your Shared with me folder will only be synced if they are dragged to My Drive on Google Drive online. Only files and folders in your My Drive will be synced.
  • Before syncing for the first time, we suggest you clear all Trash files from your Google Drive online.
  • NOTE : It is important to allow overGrive to finish the first sync completely. If the first sync does not complete it will open the overGrive setup screen again on restart. You can simply select Start Sync again to complete the synchronization process.

 

5. Activate License

  • When restarting overGrive the license activation dialog will appear. Click Activate  

 

  • To activate the license enter the license activation code emailed to you, in the box provided and click Activate again.
  • NOTE: The license code is only valid for the Google Account used during registration. If you get an Activation code error it is because the Google account used is not correct or the code was not copied and pasted correctly. The current connected account is show in the preferences menu.

 

* Gnome Shell Application Indicator display on top bar (Older GNOME Desktop Users Only)

 

* Elementary OS - Fix top bar application indicators  (Pantheon Desktop Users Only)

 

* Mint

  • Mint Cinnamon desktop: